Bangladesh Player Shakib bowling

Bangladesh played their first T20 international against New Zealand today at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka. NZ was scheduled to play 5 T20s in their tour to Bangladesh. The T20I series was scheduled to play between September 1 to 10.

Kiwis started their tour by playing their first T20 match against the Bangladesh side in the Dhaka stadium. The Bangla tigers came into the series with a thumping series victory over the Australian side. They looked a strong side on paper as well on the field as they were fielding an experienced XI which includes Shakib, Mushfiqur and Mahmudullah.

Both the teams announced their below XI before the toss

Bangladesh XI:

Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah(c), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan(w), Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed

New Zealand XI:

Rachin Ravindra, Tom Blundell, Will Young, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham(w/c), Henry Nicholls, Cole McConchie, Doug Bracewell, Ajaz Patel, Blair Tickner, Jacob Duffy

Tom Latham, the Kiwi captain for the series won the toss and chose to bat first. Atul Wassan, the Bangladesh commentator suggested the same during the pitch report to mention that the team winning the toss should bat first. As expected, NZ has decided to bat first after winning the toss.

But the nightmare started for the NZ batsmen once their innings started. Rachin Ravindra, the debutant had gone for a golden duck without even disturbing the scorers in the third ball of the match by Mahedi Hasan.

Rachin Ravindra c&b M Hasan 0(1)

Shakib Al Hasan was introduced into the attack and Will Young was dismissed bowled after edging one into the stumps after scoring 5 runs.

Bangladesh win against NZ

W Young b Shakib Al Hasan 5(11) [4s-1]. At this stage, NZ was struggling at 7 for 2 in 3 overs.

More trouble had been created when Nasum Ahmed bowled the 4th over of the match. He dismissed Grandhomme and Blundell in the same over of the match to restrict NZ at 9 for 4 after 4 overs.

Grandhomme c Naim b Nasum Ahmed 1(4)

Tom Blundell b Nasum Ahmed 2(6)

At the halfway mark, NZ was 40 for 4 in 10 overs. Latham and Nicholls were in the process of building a partnership to get them into a fighting total. But things went wrong for them once again after Latham got out hooking a short ball bowled by Saifuddin. NZ was in deep trouble at 44 for 5 after 11 overs.

After the dismissal of Latham, NZ collapsed like a pack of cards as they were dismissed for 60 all-out under 17 overs. This was their joint-lowest totals in T20 history as they registered their other lowest total of 60 against SL in 2014. The last 5 wickets of the visitors were gone for 16 runs in 16.5 overs.

Bangladesh started their small chase thinking about registering an easy win. But they lost their openers within 3 overs for just 7 runs. Shakib and Mushfiqur Rahim, the most experienced pair for the tigers, steadied the ship by playing some sensible cricketing shots. Shakib was dismissed by the debutant Rachin Ravindra for 25 runs when Bangladesh was batting at 37 for 3 in 10 overs.

Shakib c T Latham b R Ravindra 25(33) [4s-2]

Mahmudullah then joined the wicket-keeper batsman and they both finished the match with five overs to spare. In the end, Bangladesh won the 1st T20I by 7 wickets to put NZ under some early pressure in the series. Let’s wait for the next match on Sep 3 until then it’s bye from our end, EROSPORTZ.

For the latest IPL Cricket updates, and India vs England 2021 series updates, subscribe to our website here Erosportz

Leave a Reply